On My Own Content and Value

I’m exactly like everyone else.

I run, walk and sit through my days. I think about stuff. I worry about big and little shit and then I remember that worrying is a complete waste of time. I try to do the best that I can. I love myself and I bash my own brains in. I love everyone around me and I get annoyed and want to be left the hell alone. I make a bunch of mistakes. And I also don’t.

I want to do things. The altruistic me wants to leave the world a better place than I found it. The ego me wants to leave my mark. In the end, I’m not sure how much different those two things are, but I’m shooting for the former because I’m trying to strip away the latter. Like everything else, I think it all just comes down to perspective and intent.

I am not here for me. I am here to serve. And love. And provide. And create positive change where I think I can.

(That is a lot of “I” for someone who is trying to strip away ego, methinks – another post for another day)

The window of opportunity has opened for me to work on these things where I think can serve. And love. And provide. And create positive change.

So, the time to do these things I want to do is here. My intent and perspective have created a vision and mapped out a path and now, with these extra few hours a day with my daughters in school, I am stepping down that path. Now vision must become creation.

I have learned a lot over the last few years and I think that information can be valuable. To share what I have gained I am writing a cookbook, a gluten free health and lifestyle website, children’s books, and several other things. I’m also going to be teaching cooking classes and doing some instructional videos. Those are the basics. Under the surface bubbles much more. I think I can help people to be healthier and happier and to create positive change in their own lives.

With that, I’m thinking a lot lately about content and value. Those wonderful buzz words that have been spun to a point of losing all meaning.

But what do they mean to me?

Where do I fit into all of this? Won’t I just be sharing information that people can get somewhere else? How will my content be any different? What of value can I offer people?

And how do I define my own meaning in all of this?

I’m going to just call those rhetorical questions because I don’t have good answers for them yet. Or maybe they don’t need answers (you know, being rhetorical and all).

We are all in this together. If I or anyone else can extend a hand and help another then that’s what we should do. I have been on this strange and beautiful rock for quite a while now (my grey hair and the hot water bottle on my aching lower back remind me of that), all the while experiencing and learning and stuff. The real question becomes what to do with all of that stuff.

The lessons I have taken from my unique path through this life are my content. Sharing those lessons, then, become my value.

I am exactly like everyone else, with all the same beauty and ugliness, wisdom and naivety. The only differences between us are in our paths. It is from my path that I have learned lessons that can be of value to others. And it is from these lessons that I can build my own unique content and continue to serve and love and provide and create positive change.

Now, onward…..

About Mitchell Brown

I am a stay at home dad with my two daughters who are a lot stronger than they look. When I'm not cooking, cleaning, dancing, reading, teaching, playing or protecting my eyes and groin, I am writing about this whole experience in all of its ridiculousness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On My Own Content and Value

  1. HeatherEO says:

    Mitch,
    just by the way you write, we can tell your path has given you gifts that you can now give away. It’s hard to figure out what that means. Maybe we spend always trying to figure it out and all the while we were giving it away–something mysterious and sometimes concrete and clear but mostly not. If that makes any sense at all. Am tired. 😉

    • Thanks so much, Heather – that is very kind of you to say. I’m wondering how tired I am now since what you said made perfect sense. 🙂 I think that journey runs parallel with the path towards enlightenment or happiness or just being a good person – you never do quite get to the end as there is always more to learn.

Leave a Reply

