My Green Band-Aid

(I started writing something that was a little more in tune with current events and death and retribution and all that, but I threw that away and wrote this instead.)

Today I am wearing a green band-aid. Not a green that is trying to hide, but an electric green, bright and loud. It’s a pretty green and it is nice to look at. It’s a fun band-aid.

I’m not wearing it because I necessarily wanted to add a bit of merriment to the gaping wound on my hand. I’m wearing a green band-aid today because that is what we have (well, that and some nice balloon ones and a few left over that have fishies on them, but the green one was the first one I grabbed). I’m wearing a green band-aid today because I have kids and kids like all sorts of adhesive adornment and band-aids fit the bill nicely.

If I didn’t have kids I probably would be wearing one of those regular band-aids or possibly a clear one that would allow the fact that I busted my hand open to go unnoticed. Without kids I would probably only own plain band-aids. I would probably have a job and some ties and a nice haircut, a fresh shave and an easily camouflaged clumsy streak. It would probably be a nice life, but as I look down at my hand I realize that I might have been missing something.

I have often been guilty of taking things way too seriously. I have stared into history and watched it’s reflection on the present and mired myself in frustrations about the way things are and the way they should be. I have spit venom at what I have seen as wrong. I have shouted at the heavens about what I believe is right. I have snarled and hissed and dug in. And it has all amounted to nothing.

Then I had kids. My daughters. They have taught me so many things like softness and patience. They have taught me how to see things from their perspective, unjaded and open. They taught me that love is all that matters. I may still hold onto my ideas passionately and feel deeply the woes of the world, but tea parties in tiny chairs conquer hostility every time. It is impossible to see the world in the same way through pink sunglasses with fairies on them.

The world is what it is. We will be wounded sometimes. There is nothing we can do about that. What we do have a choice in is how we deal with those wounds. Today I cut myself and, with my daughters’ help, I put on a bright green band aid. Suddenly, my hand just didn’t seem that serious anymore. I got two little kisses and we went back to play. That made it all feel better.

About Mitchell Brown

I am a stay at home dad with my two daughters who are a lot stronger than they look. When I'm not cooking, cleaning, dancing, reading, teaching, playing or protecting my eyes and groin, I am writing about this whole experience in all of its ridiculousness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Green Band-Aid

  1. David says:

    Mitch,

    LOVE IS ALL… THAT MATTERS….

    What else can we say. We are so very lucky to have what we have and share. That is my new favorite word…”share”…. Sharing is love and love is sharing. Let all appreciate what we have and share with each other. Please.

    • It is, indeed, my friend.

      I get to use that word ‘share’ on a pretty regular basis around here, but I think I could stand to pay attention a little bit better to it myself. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. Thank you for reminding me to take it all a bit less seriously and focus on what matters. I really enjoy your writing. I did write the heavy handed death post, and I wish I had written about green band aids instead. Might have made for an easier week.

    • I started the heavy one but trashed it quickly. Believe me, the green band aid focus didn’t come easily to me this week, but I am glad it came.

      Thanks as always, Jabiz. I enjoy seeing your face here very much.

  3. Yes. This. What you said.
    Another poignant post born out of ordinary things. Thank you.
    Again. 🙂

  4. Scott Barnes says:

    For a minute I thought this was going to be about an environmentally green band-aid you made out of kelp or something (you vegan hippie you!) but an electric green band-aid is much more fun. I’m so jealous of the two kisses you got! That the best part of this post.

  5. Carla Peak says:

    You are so right. Life is all about choices!

    • Indeed. It would be nice, though, if it were the easy ones that were the most beneficial – doesn’t’ seem to work that way, though.

      Thank you for taking the time to read, Carla.

  6. “It is impossible to see the world in the same way through pink sunglasses with fairies on them.”

    So important to remember that not only do we all each view things differently through our own lenses…but that we actually have the ability to change that lens at least periodically.

    Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

