To My Birthday Girl

Tomorrow, Bug, you will be four years old.

It doesn’t seem like four years ago that we met you. Those three days happened yesterday and a lifetime ago. Those were a few tough days. You sure fought to be here. Mommy sure fought for you to be here, too. A lifetime ago and just yesterday. That was the first time I was proud of you.

Tomorrow that will be four years ago.

A lot of full days between then and now. I think of you sleeping on my chest and going for bike rides and reading books and days at our favorite park by the boats. Bowls of orange soup and simple steps on a black road and baths in a blue tub. Four years of your songs, singing softly to me.

Tomorrow you will already be four years old.

I don’t have a baby anymore. You think of this world as well as your place in it. You seem to discover everyday just how big you are now, which is what allows you to see just how small you are still. I know you struggle with that, Bug. I want to help so much, to make it easier somehow, but I know that struggle is part of growing up. Know that I will always be here when you need me.

Tomorrow, though, you will just be four years old.

Though your words and your vision may fool us, and yourself, that baby on my chest isn’t that small in the rearview mirror. Moments remind us of that. But they are just moments now. The picture of you, while still being drawn, has so much more detail.

Tomorrow you will be four years old.

My oldest child, my first daughter, my little friend, my sensitive girl, my Bug will be four years old tomorrow. So many tears and smiles we have shared. I am so proud to be your daddy. I am who I am because of you. Thank you for all you’ve taught me.

Happy Birthday – I love you so much.

Daddy

About Mitchell Brown

I am a stay at home dad with my two daughters who are a lot stronger than they look. When I'm not cooking, cleaning, dancing, reading, teaching, playing or protecting my eyes and groin, I am writing about this whole experience in all of its ridiculousness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to To My Birthday Girl

  1. Meka says:

    beautiful Mitchell, just beautiful.

    Happy Birthday to one amazing little girl!

    We love you guys!

  2. Dawn says:

    so precious and lovely…both the sentiments and the girl. Happy birthday!

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention To My Birthday Girl | Thoughtful Pop -- Topsy.com

  4. daddygreen says:

    beautiful post. Happy belated birthday to your Bug

  5. shelby says:

    tearing up. so sweet xoxo

  6. Jack says:

    This was great. Happy Birthday Bug.

  7. Kevin says:

    Very nice.

    Happy birthday Bug

  8. Dalite S says:

    Pickle,
    I have been thinking about you and Holly lately, and what wonderfully intentional parents you are to those amazing little people. They are empowered by you daily and will propel through this world with unabashed wisdom and strength. Thank you for sharing your love beyond your girls. As you are showing them the way, they are gonna rock this world. Kisses to you all and my love always. D

  9. Robyn says:

    Awww… I’m tearing up while reading this! Your words are so sweet & beautiful in honor of your little girl! December is busy for us too, my daughters bday is Dec. 27th (fun fun! : ) Happy belated birthday to your lil’ darling!

    • Thanks, Robyn. Those late December birthdays really don’t help the insanity of the holidays, but also go a long way towards keeping them in the proper perspective. I’m sure she’ll be pissed when she’s a little older, though. Happy belated to yours, also.

  10. Beautiful… brought a tear to my eye. Enjoy the time! Its a cliche, but it does go fast… mine are 10 and 13 now and each year they become even more wonderful and interesting, but also one year closer to adulthood.

    I love your writing, fabulous!!

    • Thank you, sir. I am enjoying the time but, like all of us, can’t believe how fast it does go. How do I have a four yr old already? She was just a baby, for cryin’ out loud. 10 and 13 seems so far away, but I know it will be upon me in a blink – and then onto having 2 teenage girls. I am unprepared.

      Thanks for your kind words. I have really enjoyed yours as well since discovering it a couple of days ago. I look forward to more.

Leave a Reply

