Reflecting on Thanksgiving

Hell yes, I’m thankful.

Aside from defying the physical laws of volume and gastrointestinal prudence, I spent the day thinking of the people I love.  Nothing real profound there in the grand scheme of Thanksgivingness, but I think some profound thoughts spring forth.  It wasn’t that I sat with the mantra “think of those you love” or set any intention to do so, it was just a natural occurrence born of this wonderful holiday.

Thanksgiving is about gratitude and I find over and over that mine is rooted very powerfully in the people in my life.

My dad has often talked of the importance of relationships, of the foundation that they provide us for everything else, but for a very long time I don’t think I understood the depth of that idea.  Frankly, I long took many relationships for granted.

Now into my own journey into fatherhood, I am starting to get it.

Grounded today in the ever-present holy reminder to consider that which provides you peace, joy, safety and wisdom, I swam in warm thoughts of People.  Relationships.  Family.  Community.

I am thankful for my wife and children.  They are me.  Without them I could not breathe.

I am thankful for my mom, dad, sister and the rest of my family.  That is where I come from.  That is who I am.  The man I am now and the man I can become yet is because of them.

I am thankful for the family that I have gained.  Their welcoming arms and mountainous hearts affect me deeply and feed me daily.

I am thankful for my brothers – the men for whom the term ‘friend’ is inadequate.  I am a better man, a more joyful man, because of their presence in my life.  Standing with them has been to know greatness.

I am thankful for the many friends I have been blessed to know and learn from.  They may not know yet how powerfully their energy has moved me – but I do.

I am thankful for the community in which I now find myself.  Since becoming parents, my wife and I have been fortunate enough to cross paths with a few other families with children roughly the same age, as most parents do.  Over a short amount of time some of these acquaintances have become close friends and the residual effect on our lives has been staggering.  Parenting, especially that of very young children, can feel very isolated.  Finding others whom you respect and revere as people that live the same frustrations and joys is validating in your own path.  I am proud to celebrate and struggle alongside them.

I am thankful for my bi-coastal, two-man writing group.  Inspiration such as this is rare.  Admiration, more so.

Finally, I am thankful for my readers (I have readers?!?!?).  I am honored to be given the opportunity to share my thoughts and overwhelmed that you are reading them.  This blog has been up just a month now and I don’t have the words to describe what a wonderful experience it has been.

It all comes down to people.  We all are reflections of those who surround us.  We are defined, ultimately, by little else but our connections – without them nothing would exist.  I am so grateful for my connections to this world, for these people – for all of this love I am infinitely blessed to experience.

I will move with each day trying to earn all of this.

Thank you.

I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving, too.

About Mitchell Brown

I am a stay at home dad with my two daughters who are a lot stronger than they look. When I'm not cooking, cleaning, dancing, reading, teaching, playing or protecting my eyes and groin, I am writing about this whole experience in all of its ridiculousness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Reflecting on Thanksgiving

  1. Jared Karol says:

    I am glad that someone not as self-conscious as me can write this way. . . these are the types of things I want to say but sometimes – often! – don’t have the courage to do so. Thank you for sharing. Am loving the bi-coastal trip too. . .I am inspired and admiring, and am happy to be inspirational and admired. . . Until the next inspirational opportunity. . .

  2. Lancey Wilson says:

    Mitchell, Your Thanksgiving posting was my favorite so far! I’ve been enjoying reading about you and your family on your blog. I didn’t know you possessed such an amazing talent for writing. Guess our conversations through the years always centered around sports. Carol and Holly are right…you have a GIFT. I look forward to each new entry. Special love, Cousin Lancey

    • Thank you so much, Lancey. It has been a joy writing these things and even better getting to share them – I appreciate your time and thoughts. Give my love to your clan (our clan). Go Padres.

  3. Christie Collbran says:

    🙂 🙂

  4. Alicia says:

    Yes, you do have readers! You are an amazing writer. Isn’t it a funny/frustrating road you take when you decide to be a parent?

    Happy Thanksgiving to you!

  5. Ruby says:

    Heartworming words from the sweetest guy and I might add cutest too.
    Love reading your blog
    Seasons greetings to you and your family
    Love u
    Ruby

    • Thank you so much, Ruby. I don’t think I have approached ‘cute’ though for well over 25 years. 🙂

      The thought of you reading this and sharing your time with me makes me very happy. I’m honored to get to connect with you in this way.

  6. Mitchell;
    This is profound. Your insight is so beautiful. Your father is like my brother to Lancey and I . I always knew you were very deep like your father. Now, you are filling up your wonderful parents with true love and respect. I want you to please send anything you write. I know publishers to direct you to down the road to help get these beautiful thoughts out to the world.
    Love,
    Markay

    • I am overwhelmed and honored by your kind words, Markay – thank you. I feel so fortunate for the parents with whom Colby and I were blessed. It is quite a feeling to constantly realize that none of this would be possible without them.

      I will absolutely send you anything that I write. So I don’t forget to send along any of these posts, you might want to simply subscribe to the blog (just click on the ‘sign me up!’ button down the right column) and each post will be emailed to you. I’m also working on other things in addition to the blog (children’s books, cook book, novel) that I would love to have help in finding a home – thank you! None of the aforementioned is finished yet, but they will be. As you know with this parenthood gig, free time is pretty limited, but they will be finished.

      Thank you for your time and, again, for your very kind words.

  7. J i m S says:

    Big Thanksgiving hugs to you my brother. Thanks for making this wild journey through fatherhood less scary and more joyful.

  8. mudly says:

    well said Mitchell. well said.

Leave a Reply

