Balance and My Brother

(I wrote this a while ago, but the idea has been in my mind quite a lot lately so I wanted to post it.  It is dedicated to my big brother, Adam Sancic.  My life is a better and wiser place because of you.)

with apologies to Dr. Seuss……

 

 

I spoke to my brother about some topics of note

So, I thought it time that I sat down and wrote

We spoke of life and kids and parenting and balance

And wondered if the last one included beer by the gallons

Now, it wasn’t unlike most other talks with him, you see

(Yes, I know how lucky I am to call him family)

But today in particular really got me to thinking

About balance itself, and not just how it relates to drinking

We’ve found it elusive, if I may say it so simply

Apparently, parenting just ain’t for the wimpy

Looking for balance there can be quite the struggle

When what you’ve got in the air is more than four clowns should juggle

Now, I can’t speak for him, but I’m only one clown

And sometimes the something I juggle might hit the ground

That’s when my juggling trouble seems to end up doubling

How my troubles feel, which are already plenty troubling

I can become overwhelmed by the sheer size of it all

And staring at the big picture can make me feel quite small

So, as I thought about finding balance amidst this tsunami

Trying not to let all that weight just crash down upon me

I thought of my brother, our talk and commiseration

And realized the picture needed minimization

I must balance not the whole, but each constituent part

While keeping the grand idea close to my heart

If I can find peace within each piece, and I know that I can

Then the rest will take care of itself, at least that’s the plan

With patience and thought, I can do this, I know

Balance is in each moment and here’s why I know that it’s so

I learned it by watching, a lesson like any other

But today I found balance in the moment I spent with my brother

About Mitchell Brown

I am a stay at home dad with my two daughters who are a lot stronger than they look. When I'm not cooking, cleaning, dancing, reading, teaching, playing or protecting my eyes and groin, I am writing about this whole experience in all of its ridiculousness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Balance and My Brother

  1. mudly says:

    if i could rhyme
    i’d say that was a mighty good time
    good words to the wise
    about keeping our eyes on the prize

    …. and i’m done.

    three cheers for balance, rhyming, and laughter! cuz i’m laughing right now

  2. Adam says:

    Thanks Pickle,
    this is hanging in cubicles all around the Vt state Dept offices… I guess since you’ve now officially published it, I should let everyone know that YOU in fact wrote it….(no shame in my game)

  3. Brad White says:

    That was awesome. Got a little teary.

Leave a Reply

