A Dubious Beginning

Sort of like my initial leap into parenthood, I really have no idea where to start.  Since I became a father almost four years ago I have learned more about myself and about life than I had in all 33 years prior.  Easily.  So, I decided it was time to chronicle my experiences and subsequent lessons of such a unique undertaking as fatherhood through an equally unique medium – blogging.

The direction that this will take is as of yet pretty undefined (again with a nod to the nature of parenthood).  I honestly can’t see how that will matter too much just yet as only a few will really see this and my wife and mom both think I’m a great writer already (which I really appreciate – thanks, guys).  I guess, ultimately, my goal with this blog is to simply write and have others read it.  Novel, huh?  Plainly said, I love to write and this carnival ride of a life as a stay at home dad has provided me with about a baker’s dozen different topics daily before breakfast is even over.

I will certainly be including things I have written since my beautiful daughters graced us with their presence, but I want to primarily focus on the present and where I am now going.  I do not intend to litter my posts with cute little anecdotes or cliché parenting tips, though I am sure I will be guilty of including those as well.  The real purpose for writing this blog is to explore the ways in which I have grown as a person as a result of this adventure with my daughters, Bug and Lemon (no, I did not really name them that, folks), ages nearly 4 and 2 ½, respectively.  Those two, along with my inexpressibly wonderful wife Holly, have allowed me to learn how to be a better husband, dad, friend, son, cook, writer, citizen and innocent bystander and I want to explore those journeys and their origins here.  So begins my public narrative of my ridiculous (and wonderful) life.  With that said, I would like to leave you with a haiku…..

Quinoa on the dog                                                                                                                                This wasn’t in the brochure                                                                                                             Is it nap time yet?

About Mitchell Brown

I am a stay at home dad with my two daughters who are a lot stronger than they look. When I'm not cooking, cleaning, dancing, reading, teaching, playing or protecting my eyes and groin, I am writing about this whole experience in all of its ridiculousness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Dubious Beginning

  1. Jared Karol says:

    I’m glad you’re doing this. . . looking forward to reading and commenting on your posts. . . and, hey, who knows? I may even be inspired by this idea and do my own blog. . . or maybe not. . .

  2. J i m S says:

    Love it! You’re off to a wonderful start and each post has made me smile. (Although I laugh at the thought of your hi-tech blog with links and photos when only two years ago you said to me, “I don’t have an email address right now.” I believe my response was, “Um…you know they’re free, right?)

    Big hugs to you. Thanks for reminding me how important my real job (Dad) is.

    • HA! I forgot about that. Don’t chalk too much of the look up to my tech sav-itude — it’s not like I’m writing code over here.

      Thanks for reading and for your kind words, Jim. That makes me smile.

  3. mudly says:

    Mitchell!!! So entirely freakin’ excited that you’re writing a blog!! I have had one for over 2 years now, and I go through phases of posting like a banshi (that’s not spelled right) and then not, but none the less, its awesome. I go back and read it and smile.

    So anyways, psyched that you’ve decided to roll with the blog. It’s already fun. I’ve laughed and smiled and elbowed my mom 🙂

    • You make me smile, Mud. Thank you! You need to know that your various expressions, whether on your blog or on facebook or wherever, have definitely had a hugely inspiring effect on me. And your kind words here really help, too. I’m going to try to keep up a banshee-like posting pace, but I’ve got to check with my two little bosses regarding how much time they will afford me. We think of you two often up there in beautiful Floyd (great photos, btw) and miss you a ton. Thanks again, Mud.

  4. mudly says:

    p.s. the poem is,
    well,
    exquisite.

Leave a Reply

